Best Underwater Ice Fishing Camera

We love fishing, do not get us wrong here, this activity is certainly very relaxing, but, our gripe? The long hours that are involved with nothing to do but just sit and wait.

And this long sitting hours in a boat is where the underwater fishing camera comes in. Whether you are skeptical of this device’s performance or you believe that they are too high-tech for something as simple as a fishing trip, then, you probably have them written off as something not worth the spend.

And for this reason, we have tested the best devices we could find in the market so that we can show you what it is that they are about and just how they can change the way we fish.

Let us give you a brief history of underwater fishing cameras

The History

The use of video cameras can be followed back to as early as 1845. An English inventor by the name of Francis Ronalds found that he could record images by gradually pulling a photosensitive surface at an opening in his camera. This technique has proven to be useful in the recording of many scientific findings in laboratories for almost a century.

In the year 1876, the first film camera was introduced by a man named Wordsworth Donisthorpe. He was well-known for the kinesigraph. He made use of this device to record the Trafalgar’s Square traffic in London. Although, all of the 10 frames of the original recording were lost.

And in the year 1887, William Friese-Green experimented on the celluloid film. His own idea became a hallmark standard used in the centuries that followed his invention. Of course, in his own time, his inventions were seen as advanced. But, the camera, as expected, especially with today’s standards, was unreliable and it suffered from low frame rates.

In 1889, a Scottish inventor known as William Kennedy Laurie Dickson made history in camera technology. He invented the kinetographic camera. Unlike the cameras that were invented before it, it had a faster frame rate. It was also powered by an electric motor. This was considered to be the basis for what we know as cinematography today.

On another hand, the first underwater camera was introduced by Louis Boutan who was a French scientist. It took around 30 minutes for the camera to expose just a single frame. Boutan contrived the first underwater camera in the year 1893. He used a water-tight housing plus a compressed air bladder. This is very analogous to the available underwater fishing cameras we have on the market today.

Hand-Held Camera

In the year 1911, the first hand-held film camera was launched, and it was named the Aeroscope. Unlike the other cameras that came before it, the Aeroscope did not need the operator to crank the film, with this, both hands are freed so that they can focus on steadying the camera’s focus.

Before the year 1923, the 35 mm film stock was the standard that was used for the movie cameras. Although, the Eastman Kodak released the 16 mm film stock. And as such, this low-cost alternative inspired amateur movie makers to start film making. The 16 mm film remined in use until the late 2000s, but it was later dismissed to be of lesser quality. At this time, digital cameras were gaining a foothold in the market.

Digital cameras can capture images digitally, duh. It would then record the images in the hard disks or memory cards instead of films. Over the years, the cost of the digital components has been gradually declining. And now, shooting on digital is getting more accessible than with the use of films. Since the year 2010, the digital movie cameras have dominated the motion picture industry.

Today, underwater fishing cameras make use of the digital technology. With this, you can transmit images from underwater to the boat. The waterproof housing (does not come in all) can protect the internal parts of the camera. There are also various models that use filters to help produce better quality images.

How We Picked the Best Underwater Camera for Fishing

The main purpose of the underwater fishing camera is only to show you just what is going on under the surface by your fishing line. The main features that we have considered are:

  • Camera Quality: Does this device give you a clear picture of what exactly is going on? Many of these devices measure in TVL, the same as security cameras.
  • Battery Life: Will this device keep running all day or will there be a cut in transmission while you are fishing?
  • Ease of Use: IS the device easy to set up? Are its functions easy to use? And is it easy to pack it away after use?
  • Applications: Can this device be used for ice fishing? Can it be used in saltwater?
  • Price: Is this device worth the investment?
  • Quality: Just how likely is it to break, corrode or malfunction?

There were some features that we saw that resulted in an immediate veto. Let us take for example the camera styles, shapes, and lights that could potentially scare off the fish. Other models that were advertised as ice fishing underwater cameras could not be handled in the cold or even with gloves on.

But be rest assured, we have made sure to give you the top 10 best underwater fishing cameras for 2019.

Eyoyo Fish Finder O0417MG

The best underwater fishing camera.

  • This model has the most comprehensive fishing kit with 50m depth, adjustable LEDs and a 1000 TVL HD camera.
  • It comes with a 9-inch monitor display that is bright and detailed even when you use it in murky waters, with a removable sun visor.
  • It records video onto a micro SD card while you are fishing under ice, in lakes, rivers, and the ocean.

Our Rating: 9.5/10

As you will find out, many of the underwater fishing cameras in this list have one unique feature, it does not matter whether it is the large screen, long cable depth, or just the impressive battery time.

Unlike the Eyoyo model, this particular one, it comes with the best of everything

This underwater fishing camera is made to go anywhere, from the depths of the ocean to the shallow lakes, it also comes with a 50-meter cold-resistant cable. The camera records 1000 TVL, and this is the highest quality of all the best underwater fishing cameras and it is fitted with 12 infrared LEDs with adjustable light levels for your night fishing.

This camera’s design is silver and comes in the shape of a fish, and this is the standard shell for all Eyoyo cameras despite their model. It does not spook the fish, and it is, as you might imagine, waterproof.

It comes with a micro SD card of 8 GB already installed; what we loved is just how one could open the box and start fishing right out of the box without needing any much setup. There is a float, battery charger (this is for when you fish for longer than 6 hours), sunshade and fishing accessories all come in the waterproof carrying case.

You could switch the 8 GB if you see the need to.

In all, this is one of the best all-round kits for underwater fishing that we were able to test out. The picture quality of this device is great and, although this model comes at a high price, we can say that it is definitely worth the price.

Its Features

  • Suitable For: All ice, freshwater and saltwater locations, clear and murky water, too.
  • Monitor Size: 9 inches
  • Lights: 12 infrared LEDs
  • Quality: 1000 TVL HD camera.
  • Video Recording:
  • Cable Length: 50 meters
  • Battery Time: 6 hours.
  • Warranty: 1-year limited warranty.

 

 

 Aqua-Vu AV125c Underwater Camera

Runner-up Best underwater fishing camera

  • This is a reliable and sturdy 7-inch monitor with a cable reel that will all easily fit into a5-gallon fishing bucket.
  • This model’s camera is made with anti-spooking for fish with adjustable LEDs and CMOS camera optics.
  • It can drop down to 15 meters in clear and still waters.

Our Rating: 9/10

This underwater fishing line camera us one of the most expensive, but also one of the most reliable models on the market. It is one of those devices that once you buy it, you are assured of a lifetime usage, there’s also a 1-year warranty just in case.

It comes with a 7-inch screen that will automatically turn from color to black and white when the light quality drops in the water. The model itself does not come in a waterproof case like most of the other products listed in this article.

The cord wraps around the base and it folds neatly so that it can fit into a 5-gallon bucket, which you probably already have in your possession.

The quality of the video picture is very good when in clear and still waters. The LEDs help a little in the dark waters, but it will only reflect off water particles when in murky waters. You do not choose this fishing camera for the best picture, rather you pick it because of its durability.

The thing that puts this model in the runner-up position is its reliability and sturdy design. If you should accidentally drop your portable fish finder, the battery would stop on your wireless fishing camera, and the cable would snap on your budget underwater camera, and this is where Aqua-Vu comes in, the product you can trust and rely on in moments like this.

What precludes this model from being the number one product on this list is that, it is, well, outdated. It has an outmoded look even when it comes in brand new and it won’t record any video, hook up to your iPhone or do anything that is remotely special.

This model is great for the traditional fisherman who is looking for some minor activity without having to spook the fish.

Aqua-Vu Features

  • Suitable For: Clean water under the ice, in lakes, rivers, and in the ocean.
  • Monitor Size: 7 inches.
  • Lights: LED Lights
  • Quality: Standard camera.
  • Video Recording: Not supported.
  • Cable Length: 15 meters.
  • Battery Time: 10 hours.
  • Warranty: 1-year limited warranty.

 

 

Moocor Portable Fish Finder LQ-3505D

Best underwater camera for ice fishing.

  • This device gives you a very clear picture with the image sensor chip from under ice or in the saltwater to the 3.5-inch monitor.
  • The device’s cable is made for ice conditions with special waterproofing and anti-pressing design.
  • Its battery is made to withstand the cold and to also deliver up to 8 hours of video.

Our Rating: 8.8/10

This best underwater camera for ice fishing is also one of the smallest models on the market, but do not let that make you turn away from it. The 3.5-inch display screen is HD, and it is always giving you the best clarity with a sun visor and LED backlight.

Although it has a small monitor screen this device is not fiddly. Even with your gloves on, you can easily flip it open and access the buttons. You can also plug into the video outlet on the monitor so that you can watch the video on a screen that is much larger. The cable is 15 meters of cold-resistant, anti-pressing, special waterproof genius. This product was easily one of the sturdiest cables of all the models that we tested, with the ability to hold up to 30 kg pull.

The camera has a CMOS sensor, image sensor chip that has 440,000 pixels and it is made to record clearly even in the absence of sufficient lighting. More so, this model has an infrared LED light for fishing at night or in dark waters.

With this device and its features, you will be amazed. Not only is this underwater fishing camera made to work like a dream in icy conditions, it has some of the best tech of all the cameras that are featured on this list.

If you fish under ice on a regular basis, we recommend this small portable fish finder. It is very reliable and it gives you a very clear picture.

Its Features

  • Suitable For: Ice and saltwater fishing in murky waters.
  • Monitor Size:5 inches.
  • Lights: Infrared LED.
  • Quality: 700 TVL HD camera.
  • Video Recording: Not Supported.
  • Cable Length: 15 meters.
  • Battery Time: 8 hours.
  • Warranty: 1 year.

 

 

MarCum RC5P Recon 5 Plus

Best underwater video camera for fishing.

  • This model records footages for up to 6 hours to a 32 GB micro SD card.
  • It comes with a 50-meter cable for ice, lake, river, and saltwater fishing.
  • It has a 5-inch monitoring screen with adjustable color, brightness, and contrast.

Our Rating: 8.5/10.

If you are looking for the best camera for recording video, then you should look no further than the MarCum recon 5 Plus. This camera does not come at a cheap price, but when it comes to its quality recordings, you will love this great portable camera.

Its carrying case is made of red fabric that really is not very impressive. The solid waterproof cases are the norm when it comes to the underwater fishing camera market since they are durable and are able to handle accidental drops in the water or in light rain. Well, it sure is better than having no case at all, and another great thing about this product is that its handle is comfortable to grasp.

The camera of this device records video to a micro SD card of up to 32 GB while it is also displaying it to your screen in your carrying case. You can easily adjust the screen monitor contrast and brightness as you view the things that you record.

This is one reason why we fell in love with this underwater video camera. You can easily monitor your fishing and, also record the footage at the same time without having to sacrifice on battery and the quality of your video. Our wireless option, for example, will record and send the video straight to your smartphone, for, say, a maximum of 3 hours.  The MarCum will record for 6 hours.

If recording video of your fishing adventures is what you prioritize, then you should consider our best underwater video camera for fishing.

MarCum Underwater Video Camera Features

  • Suitable For: Ice, lakes, saltwater, etc.
  • Monitor Size: 5 inches.
  • Lights: Infrared LED.
  • Quality: 800 x 480 pixels.
  • Video Recording:
  • Cable Length: 50 meters.
  • Battery Time: 6 hours.
  • Warranty: 1 year.

 

 

GoFish Wireless Underwater Fishing Camera

Best wireless underwater fishing camera

  • This device has a wireless camera that you can set out like usual in both freshwater and saltwater.
  • It records for up to 3 hours at 1080p HD quality.
  • It is great for observing small fish and for the recording of your best catches.

Our Rating: 7.3/10.
The GoFish is one neat model that wirelessly records and, also transmits video of your underwater fishing to the GoFish app on your Apple or Android smartphone.

To make use of the device’s camera, you would need to turn it on with a full battery and set up the app so that you can stream the video to your smartphone. Another thing you can do is to record on an SD card that you can take out once you reel it in. Attach it to your fishing line and then cast out like usual.

The battery of this device can last up to 3 hours at 720p, but closer to 1 hour on the 1080p setting while you live stream to your phone. For a wireless camera, this is one good feature.

Once it is reeled in, you can then take out the SD card and upload the video to your laptop, or you can just share it through the app. It is modern and it is also reliable, it brings fishing to the 21st century and this is one thing we love about it.

Another thing that impressed us about this device is how well-designed the camera unit is. It can handle filming in rough waters, and it is not going to fly off when you have it cast out.

In all, this is the best wireless underwater fishing camera and we highly recommend it for the modern fisherman that does not need a fussy camera, and one that hooks up easily with a smartphone.

Underwater Wireless Fishing Camera Features

  • Suitable For: Fishing in both fresh water and saltwater for small fish.
  • Lights: It has night vision with green LED.
  • Quality: It has up to 1080p HD.
  • Video Recording:
  • Battery Time: 2 hours.
  • Warranty: 1-year limited warranty.

 

 

Eyoyo Fish Finder EF07

Best cheap underwater fishing camera.

  • It has a 1000 TVL HD camera at a depth of 12 meters for a price of just over $100, a great price, wouldn’t you say?
  • It comes with a 7-inch HD screen with a removable sun visor.
  • It has a waterproof carrying case that helps to hold the entire kit.

Our Rating: 8.3/10.

The Eyoyo’s Fish Finder EF07 is our best budget underwater fishing camera. It has all the basics that you would need to help you fish up to 15 meters under the water with a very clear picture. This model has a high 1000 TVL HD camera – there are similar models with lower TVL that are more expensive – with 12 infrared LED lights.

And, currently, this camera goes for just over $100.

You will also get a float, cable reel, and a battery charger that will all easily fit into the waterproof carrying case.

It is great for ice fishing, lake fishing, and saltwater fishing. The cable is, of course, waterproof, but it is also cold resistant. With its infrared lights, you will be able to comfortably see what is going on under the ice even when it is in dark water.

This model does not support video recording, but there are similar models from the same maker, Eyoyo, that will. You can also choose different cable lengths down to 50 meters, for this, you would need to pay something extra. The beauty of this 15-meter model is the value for money that it offers.

This model’s rechargeable battery can last up to 8 hours and this is about the standard for similar models from other brands. You cannot adjust the camera once it has been reeled in.

In all, we would surely recommend this set for those who are budget-tight and for beginners who do not want to spend a lot on an underwater fishing camera.

Eyoyo Best Cheap Underwater Fishing Camera Features

  • Suitable For: Ice, lake, and boat fishing.
  • Monitor Size: 7-inch LCD.
  • Lights: 12 infrared LEDs
  • Quality: 1000 TVL HD camera.
  • Video Recording: Not supported.
  • Cable Length: 15 meters.
  • Battery time: 8 hours.
  • Warranty: 1-year limited warranty.

 

 

Aqua-Vu AV Micro Plus Underwater Camera

Best small underwater camera for fishing.

  • This is a pocket-size device that has a small camera that is the size of a bottle top.
  • It comes with infrared lights that can be useful for fishing at night and in dark waters.
  • It is very easy to use, and it is rechargeable.

Our Rating: 8.6/10.

For the best small underwater camera for fishing, we have picked the tiny Aqua-Vu AV Micro Plus.

There are a few interesting features that come with this model like 2 infrared LEDs, a basic camera that is the size of a bottle top, and a 3x zoom. Although, there are some great bonus benefits to having a small underwater camera for fishing. You can charge it using a USB cable, so you can always recharge it on the go from the car or with a laptop.

This device can also easily fit into your pocket and not weigh you down if you are fishing from a boat or a difficult location.

Just like a smartphone, this device has a small screen that is of high quality and one that allows you to see in impressive detail. It has a screen protector and a sun shield, but seeing as this is a really small device, you can simply move it around into the shade without any second thought.

Another thing we were not expecting to find with this model was the sturdy metal box the device arrived in. When you are in the market trying to get something small, there usually is a higher risk of either losing it or accidentally breaking it. With this device’s storage box, we were okay knowing that tis device is going to last for longer.

If you are thinking that all these sounds too good to be true, you just might be right there.

The price of this device costs nearly $300. You could get 3 regular sized camera sets for that price. This begs the question, is it worth the buy?

Our answer? Yes. The price is certainly worth it as it is a very durable model, it is reliable and easy to use for a fishing camera.

Micro Plus Underwater Camera Features

  • Suitable For: Ice and lake fishing.
  • Monitor Size:5-inch LCD.
  • Lights: 2 infrared LEDs.
  • Quality: Standard camera.
  • Video Recording: Not supported.
  • Cable Length: 15 meters.
  • Battery: 8 hours.
  • Warranty: 1-year limited warranty.

 

 

Anysun Underwater Fish Finder 700 TVL – 15 M

  • It has a very long battery life that gives you power of up to 12 hours, with a clear HD video.
  • This device is great for fishing in cold and dark conditions, or at night with its 12 infrared LEDs.
  • It has a 1-year warranty and 30 days no questions asked return policy.

Our Rating: 7.3/10

Unlike any other product by Anysun that is featured on this list, this is one compact kit. This is a budget option that we so enjoyed giving a test drive. In the box, you will find a camera, a 15-meter cord, battery, charger, carry case and float.

It is simple to use, and it has all that you will need for a fishing day trip. The line is waterproof, cold-resistant, and pull-resistant, and this means that it is not going to get damaged while under ice or if it gets snagged on underwater rocks.

The infrared lights are quite limited, but it will give you some night vision for fishing at night or in dark waters. With this device’s 15-meter cord, it is not suitable for fishing at great depths. We would advise that you stick to relatively still waters; so, you should avoid fast flowing rivers and the ocean.

The picture quality of this device is at 700 TVL, and it is not great, but it is brightly lit, and it also provides a clear image of fish in close proximity to the camera.

It is not the most durable of all the models listed, with its plastic components, but this is something that you would naturally expect from a fishing camera that is under $100. Still, we surely feel that it is worth the money. You have everything in the box that you would get from the BOBLOV or Aqua-Vu models but just at a lower price.

Overall, the most impressive thing about this device is its long-lasting battery life. It can last up to 10 – 12 hours and this is the longest on this list. We will recommend this if you want a basic fishing camera.

Anysun 15 m Underwater Fishing Camera Features

  • Suitable For: Ice and lake fishing.
  • Monitor Size: 7-inch.
  • Lights: 12 infrared LEDs
  • Quality: 700 TVL HD camera.
  • Video Recording: Not supported.
  • Cable Length: 15 meters.
  • Battery Time: 10 – 12 hours.
  • Warranty: 1-year warranty

 

 

Anysun Underwater Fishing Camera AS-SY3800

  • This is a remote-controlled underwater camera with 360-degree views.
  • It has 16 high power bright white LEDs to brighten dark and murky waters.
  • It comes with a professional kit with a 7-inch color screen.

Our Rating: 7.7/10

The main feature that brought this underwater fishing camera to our notice is its 360-degree control. This camera is controlled by a remote and this will help you to rotate the camera once it is lowered to depths of 20 meters.

This is not something that you will see on your average underwater fishing video camera. This, of course, does not mean that this model is priced at the high end of the market.

It is designed with heavy-duty waterproof materials, and these we found to be really sturdy and suitable for choppy, cold, and salt waters. The camera has 16 LEDs that are usually very bright and they help to brighten murky waters, although, they are not string enough or equipped with infrared to allow you go night fishing.

The screen of this device is just 7 inches wide and a lower TVL than some other cheaper models that are on this list, and the lid size of the kit where the screen is embedded could easily fit a screen that is double that size.

When it comes to the technology, price, and the level of construction that was put into this model’s camera controls, we were hoping that we would get a bit more from the screen. One other downside we found on this model is its battery life. It wasn’t up to 10 hours as stated by its manufacturers, Anysun. We only managed 4 – 5 hours before the battery depleted, requiring a recharge.

We would recommend this camera for those that want to see everything, not just when fishing but underwater wreckages and exploration, in clarity through dark water. The bright lights and 360-degree controls are great features.

Its Features

  • Suitable For: Ocean, ice, and lake fishing.
  • Monitor Size: 7 inches.
  • Quality: 800 TVL HD video camera.
  • Video Recording: Not supported.
  • Cable Length: 20 meters.
  • Battery Time: 10 hours.
  • Warranty: 1-year limited warranty.

 

 

BOBLOV Fish Finder

  • It comes equipped with a HD 1000 TVL camera feeding a 7-inch brightly colored screen.
  • It can record down to 30-meter depths when you are fishing under ice, in lakes, and in saltwater.
  • Its battery can last for up to 10 hours of continuous use and it is rechargeable with charger included.

Our Rating: 7.8/10

BOBLOV’s Fish Finder kit is a good all-round underwater fishing camera. One thing we really liked about it was its quality. It is a small kit that all packs together into one small case, and while the camera only goes down 30 meters, it is quality cold-resistant, and, of course, waterproof.

In the box, you have a 7-inch TFT monitor, the underwater camera with 30 m cable and wheel, rechargeable lithium battery, a battery charger, carry case, user manual, and a fishing float.

You cannot video recording, since it is not an option, but you can comfortably sit and monitor your line for up to 10 hours through the 7-inch screen. It constructed into the lid of the storage box that measures 9.1 x 5.5 x 7.9 inches, with a carrying handle and it weighs just over 4 lb., with a removable sun visor.

Although this device is a good quality underwater fishing set, it is very simple to use. It is not that easy to move the camera around underwater, and, even though you can turn the LEDs on and off as you choose, seeing through murky water is not really possible.

In all, we would recommend this underwater camera for fishing in clear waters when you want to see what is going on. This model is great for the beginner fisherman. It would be great for those who want to explore under the water, for those who want to monitor aqua-marine life, and also for general observations. If you need a professional kit that records video, then you can check out some of the more intricate underwater fishing cameras on our list.

Its Features

  • Suitable For: Ocean, ice, and lake fishing.
  • Monitor Size: 7 inches.
  • Lights: 12 infrared LEDs.
  • Quality: 1000 TVL HD camera.
  • Video Recording: Not supported.
  • Cable Length: 30 meters.
  • Battery Time: 10 hours.

 

 

3 Tips for Choosing the Best Underwater Fishing Camera

Are you thinking about how you can choose one off this list? Well, go through these questions.

  1. Where and when will you be using the camera? You should think about where and how often you will be using the device. You do not want to spend too much on a camera that you will only be using once a summer, but at the same time, you do not want to get a cheap camera that will die over the winter without you knowing it. You should consider how much usage it will get and the effort that you will be willing to put into maintenance before you decide on a budget.
  2. Does camera/screen matter to you? For anyone who wants to records video or that would like to monitor the various types of fish in a location, seeing in vivid detail is very important. For the fisherman or fisherwoman that is only interested in seeing what is entertaining the kids while you are fishing, then having a 1000 TVL HD screen that will show you every scale is not very important.
  3. What water do you fish in? Although, there are many models that claim to be able to do ice fishing, they are mostly made for lake fishing in clear waters. If you will be taking your fishing to the extreme, it is better for you to get a specialized camera that is made for difficult conditions than for you to save money with an all-round fishing camera that will not last you long.

Finally, you will also need to keep in mind that no matter what underwater camera for fishing that you select, you will still need to clean and maintain it so that you can get the most life from it.

The Best Underwater Fishing Camera in 2019

Eyoyo 50 m 1000 TVL Fish Finder

In our research, we found that a lot of the fishermen and fisherwomen praised the Aqua-Vu models. And, yes, we do agree that they are very reliable and are the favorite among those in the fishing community, but after we tested all the models for ourselves, we found that the Eyoyo was far better. It does more for a similar and lower cost, and it also gives a better picture.

We will also like to state that our best wireless model, the GoFish, does not come without its own faults. It is probably the weakest fishing camera on this list, and yet, it was the best that we found in the wireless category. We do hope that we will get more wireless underwater fishing cameras in 2019.